

ANNUAL PARISH COUNCIL MEETING

Minutes of the meeting held on 12th May 2015 at 7.00pm

Sandgate Council Library & Offices, Sandgate High Street, Sandgate

Present: Chairman (after election) Cllr Robert Bliss (RB)

Cllrs Nina Bliss (NB), Michael Fitch (MF) Gary Fuller (GF),

Jan Holben (JH), Tim Prater (TP), Nabin Siwa (NS)

and Adrian Watts (AW)

Parish Clerk Mrs A Oates
Assistant Clerk Mrs G Thomas

There were 42 members of the public in attendance

1. Apologies for absence – apologies were received from Cllr Marjorie Findlay-Stone

2. Declarations of Interest – there was none.

3. Election of Chairman - Cllr R Bliss was nominated Chairman. With no other nominations put

forward Cllr R Bliss was duly elected Chairman.

Proposed by: Cllr Jan Holben **Seconded by:** Cllr Michael Fitch

Agreed unanimously

4. Election of Vice Chairman – Cllr Mrs J Holben was nominated.

Proposed by: Cllr Nina Bliss **Seconded by:** Cllr Adrian Watts

Agreed unanimously

5. Minutes of the Parish Council Meeting held on 14th April 2014 – the Minutes were submitted,

approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

Proposed by: Cllr Jan Holben **Seconded by:** Cllr Tim Prater

Agreed unanimously

6. Election of Committees

6.1 Election of Committee Chairpersons

Environment: Cllr Marjorie Findlay-Stone – proposed by RB; seconded by JH

Planning: Cllr Gary Fuller – proposed by RB; seconded by NB **Finance:** Cllr Nina Bliss – proposed by RB; seconded by TP **Personnel:** Cllr Robert Bliss – proposed by JH; seconded by AW **Library:** Cllr Robert Bliss – proposed by JH; seconded by NS

Land Assets Management (LAM): Cllr Jan Holben – proposed by NB; seconded by RB

All appointments were agreed unanimously

6.2 Appointment of other members to committees

Environment: Cllrs N Bliss, M Fitch, G Fuller, T Prater, N Siwa – 3 places were deferred to next full council meeting

Planning: Cllrs N Bliss, M Fitch, T Prater, N Siwa, A Watts – 2 places were deferred

Finance: R Bliss, J Holben, T Prater – 1 place was deferred

Personnel: Cllrs G Fuller, J Holben

Library: J Holben, T Prater, A Watts – 1 place was deferred

Land Assets Management: R Bliss, J Holben, T Prater – 1 place was deferred

It was agreed that the numbers in each committee would be:

Environment: 9; Planning: 8; Finance: 5; Personnel: 3; Library: 5; LAM: 5

Proposed by: Cllr T Prater Seconded by: Cllr R Bliss All agreed unanimously

6.3 Appointment of lead members of working groups

It was agreed that this item be deferred to the next full council meeting. Cllr T Prater offered to stand-in, in the meantime, as the representative for Speedwatch as the schedule for the 2015 implementation would start shortly.

7. Cheque signatories

These would be: Cllrs N Bliss, M Findlay-Stone, M Fitch, J Holben, T Prater

Proposed by: Cllr R Bliss Seconded by: Cllr G Fuller Agreed unanimously

8. Schedule of meeting dates

The schedule of meeting dates for 2015/2016 (appendix I), was presented and agreed.

Proposed by: Cllr R Bliss **Seconded by:** Cllr M Fitch **Agreed unanimously**

9. Representatives to outside meetings

It was agreed that this item be deferred to the next full council meeting.

10. Formal welcome to all councillors and notification of their statutory obligations and to agree the process for the co-option of the two casual vacancies

The Chairman formally welcomed all members. The clerk had previously circulated a briefing note. It was agreed that the clerk should proceed accordingly; adding that the deadline for submission would be Friday 29th May 2015; that the interviews would take place at an extraordinary meeting on 9th June before the scheduled June parish council meeting and the voting would be by secret ballot. The two newly elected councillors would be eligible to attend the scheduled full council meeting, once they had signed their Declaration of Office.

11. Grant application for HG Wells Short Competition

A grant application had been received requesting £500 towards the 2015 HG Wells Short Story Competition; this had been circulated to all members. It was agreed that the application be approved.

Proposed by: Cllr Tim Prater Seconded by: Cllr J Holben Agreed unanimously

12. Date of the Annual Parish Council Meeting for 2015 – this would be held on Tuesday 10th May 2016.

The meeting closed at 7.20pm

Chairman of Council	Date	••••